The media always talks about female employees getting sexually harassed in the workplace. I rarely hear stories about male employees getting harassed. Perhaps most just give in. Or they don’t say anything.

While in the Poetic Valley (see Marriage Prep: The 1st Valley), one of the most sinister temptations came from a boss. Actually, she was my bosses’ bosses’ bosses. She was the Director of an organization where I worked. The organization impacted people’s lives and I loved working there.

She was so attractive that I didn’t want to look at her too long because I felt guilty. A boss shouldn’t look this good, I thought. She was so nice to me. Too nice…

This Director is probably still well known in the community and I have no interest in hinting at her identity, so I changed some thing around. This poem gets at the issue without revealing too much.

The Boss Lady
Here she comes, the Boss Lady
She’s sweet, sultry, and shady
In control because she pays me

Calls me in the office, shuts the door
Demands an emotional strip, feelings on the floor
Wants to know my problems
Then tries to solve them

“Trust me, don’t fear
I’ll help your career”
I wanna get ahead, but she’s rubbing my back
Looking me over like a snack
This is against protocol
Complain?
Nobody will listen
Her rep is strong, touching lives is her mission
Now she wants to touch my life
In more ways than one

She wants me to visit her house
Looking good in the blue blouse
Fine like China
Hovering around my desk is where you find her
Should we secretly date?
Wait
She has all the power
Could crush my dreams like a flower
I’m like Joseph dealing with Potipher’s wife
Reject her and she will try to ruin my life
At work she sets what’s right, what’s wrong
She’s the queen, I’m a pawn
She controls the chessboard
But no matter what, I will not sin against my Lord

God worked in my behalf. I switched jobs and got out of her reach.